Deal with the feels

20140715-132320-48200564.jpg

I feel that expressionism is one of the most important lessons that should be taught. The earlier the better too. That’s something that isn’t instilled in children, especially little boys.
I was a sensitive kid growing up. Tears were my best friend, be it in school, at home, or at dance class. If I felt my emotions, then I let them be known. But not many people seemed to be like that. In fact, from what I can remember, none of the kids in my class expressed publicly, the way I did.
Now, some of you might be thinking that I believe and radical new age parenting and “time-outs”. Others see that I’m young and not a mom, so what experience could I possibly have? Well trust me, I’m a firm nonbeliever when it comes to timeouts, not corporal punishment, but I was spanked and I’m relatively fine!
However, I do remember vividly, times where I was at a loss for words to describe how I felt. We need to teach kids early on that it’s okay to be happy, sad, or mad, because it’s how we deal with these feels that is truly important. We can mean mad at Jack when he steals the block from Tristan, but we can’t hit to cause pain for retaliation. You don’t have to hold in tears and fluffy guys, because feelings are vital. They’re what makes us human. If you are a parent, or wishing to be one, I encourage you to encourage your children to embrace what they feel and teach them how to cope. 20140715-133129-48689150.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

